Tuesday, August 28, 2012


First Single From Forthcoming Album, The Road, Enters The Top 40

Nashville, Tenn. (August 28, 2012) - You can forget what your calendar says as country radio stations and music fans alike are keeping the onset of autumn at bay with the ongoing success of “Endless Summer,” the first single from Aaron Lewis’ forthcoming album, The Road

Country radio programmers have been steady in their praise of “Endless Summer.” “It’s been our top testing song through all of July and August,” says Bob Walker, Program Director of WCTK/Providence of the single, which has climbed to 39* on Billboard’s Hot Country Songs chart.

“I think this truly is a hit single and Aaron deserves that shot,” add KBEQ Program Director Mike Kennedy.  “He came in here, grabbed a guitar and mesmerized the crowd for 30 minutes.  You could really feel his star power in that moment!”

The song is also a reflection of where Lewis is now as a songwriter.  Known for more melancholic hits like “It’s Been a While” and “Outside,” “Endless Summer” is decidedly upbeat and infectious.  “This proves I can write a happy song,” says Lewis, with a laugh.  “It’s just the story of the weekend trips I take with my wife and my daughters to our little beach cottage.  It’s hard not to be happy when I think about that.”

The Road, co-produced by Lewis and Nashville legend James Stroud (Tim McGraw, Toby Keith, Willie Nelson, Chris Young), was originally scheduled for release in early September via Stroud’s R&J Records label but is now planned for a November 13 release on Blaster Records through Warner Music Nashville.

“I really hate that we’ve had to move the record back,” says Lewis.  “We’ve been playing these songs live on tour all summer and I know there are people who are frustrated they can’t get the album yet.  I’m frustrated, too, but there have been a bunch of positive changes in my world and in the long run, the delay is really for the best.”

The Road features ten new songs, including “Granddaddy’s Gun,” written by Rhett Akins, Dallas Davidson and Bobby Pinson.  It marks the first time in his career that Lewis has ever recorded a song he didn’t write.  “Rhett is a friend of mine and played the song for me when we were on a hunting trip,” says Lewis.  “The lyrics really tell my story.  It’s a song that I could have written.” 

"I hope people hear the record and realize it’s a total reflection of me," Lewis says of the songs on The Road.  "I'm writing songs about who I am and where I am, just like I've done my whole career.  The setting for the songs might be different but they're as honest as anything I've ever done."

The complete track listing for the album is:

1.  75
2.  The Road
3.  Endless Summer
4.  Red, White & Blue
5.  Lessons Learned
6.  Forever
7.  Grandaddy’s Gun
8.  State Lines
9.  Anywhere But Here
10.  Party In Hell

Lewis’s debut solo release, Town Line, bowed at #1 on Billboard’s Top Country Albums chart and #7 on the Top US Albums chart in March of 2011.  The first single from that EP, “Country Boy,” has been certified Gold and its video has received over 15,000,000 online views to date, reaching #1 on CMT.com.  The song, which features guest appearances from George Jones and Charlie Daniels, also earned Lewis nominations from the Academy Of Country Music for “Vocal Event of the Year” as well as two CMT Music Awards nominations for “Breakthrough Video of the Year” and “Collaborative Video of the Year.”

Lewis will resume his tour in support of The Road in November.  Information on ticket on-sale dates and special fan club opportunities will be available at www.aaronlewismusic.com as dates are confirmed.

No comments: