Tuesday, March 8, 2022


The ACM Awards were held in Las Vegas last night and live-streamed on Amazon Prime Video. Hosted by the legendary Dolly Parton and her co-hosts Jimmie Allen and Gabby Barrett, the show did not fail to entertain by any means. This year the Academy of Country Music and the performers went all in and put on one hell of a show with outstanding energetic and emotional performances by Eric Church, Chris Stapleton, Jimmie Allen, Carly Pearce & Ashley McBryde, Maren Morris, Thomas Rhett, Breland, Lainey Wilson, Brothers Osborne (as a duo and with Brittney Spencer), Dolly & Kelsea Ballerini. Parmalee with Blanco Brown and Brooke Eden, Parker McCollum, Walker Hayes, Kane Brown, Chris Young (solo and with Mitchell Tenpenny), Luke Bryan (solo and with Jordan Davis), Jason Aldean & Carrie Underwood, and an emotional and a perfectly timed and much needed encouraging rendition of LeAnn Womack's classic "I Hope You Dance" by Gabby Barrett.

This was the show of the year and this is coming from a girl who normally finds a reason to change the channel during awards shows. I loved the whole show, but I really loved the streaming format. I know it resulted in some people who weren't Prime members not being able to watch, but this format allowed for virtually no commercials other than the occasional preview of new Amazon Prime shows, which meant this allowed for more new and upcoming artists to be showcased and give full performances. Well done everyone!

Congratulations to the well deserving winners listed below:

Entertainer Of The Year

Miranda Lambert

Female Artist Of The Year

Carly Pearce

Male Artist Of The Year

Chris Stapleton

Duo Of The Year

Brothers Osborne

Group Of The Year

Old Dominion

New Female Artist Of The Year

Lainey Wilson

New Male Artist Of The Year

Parker McCollum

Album Of The Year 

"Dangerous: The Double Album" – Morgan Wallen

Producer: Joey Moi, Jacob Durrett, Charlie Handsome, Matt Dragstrem, Dave Cohen

Record Company-Label: Big Loud Records / Republic Records

Single Of The Year 

If I Didn’t Love You – Jason Aldean and Carrie Underwood

Producers: Michael Knox

Record Company-Label: Broken Bow Records; Macon Music, LLC; BBR Music Group, BMG

Song Of The Year

Things A Man Oughta Know – Lainey Wilson

Songwriters: Jason Nix, Jonathan Singleton, Lainey Wilson

Publishers: Sony/ATV Accent, Sony/ATV Countryside, Spirit Two Nashville, Super Big Music

Video Of The Year

"Drunk (And I Don’t Wanna Go Home)" - Elle King & Miranda Lambert

Producers: Angie Lorenz, Wes Edwards, James Stratakis

Directors: Alexa Kinigopoulos, Stephen Kinigopoulos

Songwriter Of The Year

Michael Hardy

Music Event Of The Year 

"Never Wanted To Be That Girl" – Carly Pearce & Ashley McBryde

Producers: Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne

Record Company-Label: Big Machine Label Group, Warner Music Nashville

No comments: