Thursday, March 31, 2022


Nashville Songwriter Hall of Fame member. mega-hit songwriter and performer, Kent Blazy, has announced the release of his new album, For The Byrds, recorded, mixed and engineered by Matt Allen at Allentown Studios located in Nashville, TN with mastering by Mayfield Mastering. Kent Blazy and Steve Allen wrote all the songs on the project, except the title track which was written by Blazy. Studio musicians included Lee Francis on bass, Kevin Murphy played drums, Dennis Matkosky provided keys, Steve Allen on guitars and harmony vocals and Kent Blazy on guitar and vocals. The new music is available to order on Kent Blazy’s website Streaming and download is available on all digital music platforms

“This record was so much fun to create. We had one day to cut 11 songs and Lee Francis and Kevin Murphy from Jon Pardi's band were up for the challenge. Both did an amazing job, as did the engineer, Matt Allen, to capture everything under the pressure of that time frame,” shared Kent Blazy.

“Kent and I have been writing together for the last couple of years and we always end up with a finished song with no agenda of style. This record has 10 songs we co-wrote during the pandemic. I think this is why the range of style goes from the 60’s garage sound of ‘Livin’ The American Dream’ to the past era ballad of ‘Twilight Time.’ We felt free to let whatever songs wanted to come out and exist just happen, yet it all flows as one long-playing album. Everybody put their heart and soul into the project and we all are proud of this album. Kent’s creative energy brought us all together to make an album we are all excited for people to hear,” added Steve Allen.

The title, For The Byrds, was chosen, as it was after hearing the song “Mr. Tambourine Man” that Blazy decided he wanted to play guitar. Many people started playing music themselves because of the Beatles, yet for Kent Blazy, it was the sound of Roger McGuinn's Rickenbacker 12-string that captivated him. That is why a picture of a Rickenbacker 12-string graces the front cover of the record. His hopes are that this record will bring the joy and fun that they had writing and recording these songs. Most of the songs were written during the Covid-19 lockdown. Steve Allen would sit on Kent’s patio while Kent sat six feet away in the house. Later they stayed masked and six feet away while writing in the house. Both writers lost their wives to brain tumors and a lot of these songs are about the new loves they both found.

For The Byrds Track Listing:

1. Crossing the Rubicon
2. World Starts Closing In
3. For The Byrds
4. She Believed In Me
5. All That Love
6. Summer Afternoon
7. Mr. Snake Oil
8. Wildest Dreams
9. Livin’ The American Dream
10. Blue Green Ocean Eyes
11. Twilight Time

Stay current with Kent Blazy on his website and on social media.

No comments: