Friday, April 26, 2024


McCreery Returns to ABC’s “American Idol” This Sunday, April 28 at 8 PM ET / 7 PM CT Performing “Cab in a Solo”

McCreery Gives Special Performance on “The Kelly Clarkson Show” this Wednesday, May 1 (Check Local Listings for Time)

McCreery Returns to the Grand Ole Opry on May 11 - First 400 Ticketholders who Purchase "Rise and Fall " onsite at Opry Store Will Gain Entrance to an Exclusive Album Release Celebration and Acoustic Performance Post-Show

Listen to “Lonely” HERE

Scotty McCreery may be a happily married father, but that is not stopping him from tapping into a bit of sorrow for his latest release out today, “Lonely,” from his upcoming album Rise and Fall. This will be the final song released from Rise and Fall before the album comes out on May 10. 

“I love a good heartbreak, honky-tonk country song, and ‘Lonely’ is definitely that,” said McCreery. “Brent, Derek, Frank, Bobby, Jeremy, Monty and I had such a good time writing this song on my back porch in the mountains of North Carolina. This song is so much fun to perform live and have the audience sing along with us. I’ve had a lot of requests from fans who’ve heard this song on the road to put it out on streaming. Here you go!”

Written by McCreery with Brent Anderson, Derek George, Frank Rogers, Bobby Hamrick, Jeremy Bussey and Monty Criswell, “Lonely” is a dark-and-dusky two-stepper drenched in heartbreak. Set in a late-night local hole-in-the-wall and narrated by a guy looking to forget why he came in the bar to begin with, friends join him in his effort to drown out the pain turning the barroom into a sing along.

Friends on the jukebox and friends wall to wall
Dimes on the dance floor and cheap alcohol
Round after round, we're all having a ball
I guess lonely ain't lonely after all
No lonely ain't lonely after all

The newest member of the legendary Grand Ole Opry will also return to the stage where he won hearts across the nation over 13 years ago. McCreery is set to perform his chart-topping hit “Cab in a Solo” on “American Idol” this Sunday, April 28. Catch his guest performance live coast-to-coast on ABC at 8 pm ET / 5 pm PT and stream on Hulu.

McCreery is also set to return to “The Kelly Clarkson Show” on Wednesday, May 1 with a special performance from the Grand Ole Opry stage. Check local listings for time.

McCreery will return to the Grand Ole Opry stage on May 11, just one day after he releases his new album Rise and Fall. The first 400 ticketholders who also purchase the album onsite in the Opry Shop that evening will gain access to an exclusive album release celebration and acoustic performance with Scotty directly following the show in the Opry House’s Studio A. For Opry tickets and information, visit

Rise and Fall will feature 13 tracks that find him exploring not only heartbreak but rowdy nights, nostalgia, faith, newfound joy, fatherhood and enduring love, resulting in a project full of insightful storytelling. The album was produced by McCreery’s longtime production team of Frank Rogers, Derek Wells and Aaron Eshuis.

McCreery co-wrote 12 of the 13 songs on the album, which will be released digitally as well as on CD and vinyl. In addition, Amazon will release a limited edition, forest green vinyl version of the album.Pre-order/pre-save Rise and Fall HERE or pre-order autographed vinyl and CDs of Rise and Fall HERE.

“I know every artist says it, but this is truly my favorite album I’ve made so far,” shares McCreery. “I wanted to create an album that reflected the music I grew up on and wasn’t chasing trends. So, I brought several of my songwriting buddies to the mountains of North Carolina to sit down and write a full-on country album that told a story, start to finish, and spoke to my soul. We’ve been performing most of the album live on the road and the response from the audiences has been overwhelming. I can’t wait for everyone to hear Rise and Fall when it comes out May 10th.”

The North Carolina native knows all too well there’s a rhythm to life and a cycle of ups and downs. And right now, he’s on the upswing.

Now 30 years old and a seasoned country music veteran selling out concerts across the globe with five consecutive No. 1 hits under his belt, McCreery is also a dedicated husband and father, welcoming a son named Avery in 2022, whose impact on the singer is highlighted in several songs on the album. Recently, he even celebrated the milestone of all milestones for a guy who grew up on Randy Travis, Johnny Cash, Dolly Parton and Ronnie Milsap; he was invited by his musical hero Garth Brooks to become the newest member of the iconic Grand Ole Opry. McCreery was just welcomed into the Opry family on April 20 by two more of his heroes, Josh Turner and Randy Travis.

But folks like McCreery know it means more when you’ve seen the other side. For him, each highlight has come in contrast to a challenge – things like the loss of his first record deal and the year of naysaying uncertainty that followed before he built himself up again, brick by brick. As a result, Rise and Fall comes from an artist who knows to appreciate the ride – no matter where it leads.

“I feel like we’re on the rise now, but I’ve fallen pretty low as well,” McCreery admits. “I learned from every little part of that, and it helped me to know who I was as a person – let alone an artist. The rises and the falls helped craft these songs. They made this album what it is.”

“Lonely” is the sixth song released from the album, following lead single “Cab in a Solo” and tracks “Red Letter Blueprint,” “Slow Dance,” “Can’t Pass the Bar” and “Love Like This.” A full listing of the album’s songs follows.

Rise and Fall Track Listing:

(Songwriters in parentheses)

1.) Little More Gone - (Scotty McCreery, Brent Anderson, Derek George, Frank Rogers, Bobby Hamrick, Jeremy Bussey, Monty Criswell)

2.) Cab in a Solo - (Scotty McCreery, Brent Anderson, Frank Rogers)
Lonely (Scotty McCreery, Brent Anderson, Derek George, Frank Rogers, Bobby Hamrick, Jeremy Bussey, Monty Criswell)

3.) Can’t Pass the Bar - (Scotty McCreery, Brent Anderson, Cale Dodds, Frank Rogers)

4.) Hey Rose - (Jay Brunswick, Jeremy Bussey, Bobby Hamrick)

5.) Fall of Summer - (Scotty McCreery, Brent Anderson, Derek George, Frank Rogers, Monty Criswell)

6.) Love Like This - (Scotty McCreery, Frank Rogers, Aaron Eshuis)

7.) Slow Dance - (Scotty McCreery, Brent Anderson, Derek George, Monty Criswell)

8.) No Country for Old Men - (Scotty McCreery, Brent Anderson, Derek George, Frank Rogers, Monty Criswell)

9.) And Countin’ - (Scotty McCreery, Frank Rogers, Bobby Hamrick, Jeremy Bussey)

10.) Stuck Behind a Tractor - (Scotty McCreery, Chase McGill, Rhett Akins)

11.) Red Letter Blueprint - (Scotty McCreery, Derek George, Brent Anderson, Jeremy Bussey, Monty Criswell)

12.) Porch - (Scotty McCreery, Greylan James, Heather Morgan)

Tickets for upcoming tour dates are on sale now at

No comments: