Tuesday, January 31, 2012

CD Review: "Waylon: The Music Inside: A Collaboration Dedicated to Waylon Jennings Volume II"

Artist: Various
CD: "Waylon: The Music Inside: A Collaboration Dedicated to Waylon Jennings Volume II"
Label: Average Joe's Entertainment
Release Date: February 7, 2012

If you are a Waylon Jennings fan, then you cannot pass up the chance to get one of the best "tribute" cds on the market, "Waylon: The Music Inside, A Collaboration Dedicated to Waylon Jennings Volume II". This is as close to feeling like Waylon is in the room with you as you're ever going to get. As a matter of fact, I wouldn't even call this a "tribute", I'd call it a work of appreciation and gratitude.

Waylon Jennings is a musical force that only certain voices and attitudes can dare try to embrace and attempt in order to make a memorable version of any of his classic songs. If you heard Volume I, that cd contained some of those artists including the likes of the incomparable Randy Houser, country's deep thinker Jamey Johnson, Alabama's Randy Owen, Waylon's son, Shooter Jennings, and others that knew the right notes to sing and the right attitude required to bring Waylon's music back to life. Volume II is an even better extension of that attitude with great names, great voices made up of country's finest to continue the love and honor for such a revered and respected artist.

Just the lead off track's title, "Lonesome, On'ry and Mean" immediately brings to mind the rugged image of a beer swiggin', gun totin' loner and that's exactly what Dierks Bentley projects. One usually doesn't put Dierks and the words "lonesome, on'ry and mean" in the same thought, however Dierks shows in the first verse of this song that it's possible to actually envision him as just that riding in his beat up pickup down a lonely dirt road to nowhere with a Smith and Wesson shoved underneath the seat. Hank Williams Jr takes the next song to task, "Waymore's Blues" and no one can sing the country blues like Bocephus. You can almost see the chicken wire and busted beer bottles surrounding him in the local "back deep in the woods" honkytonk. Now speaking of rebels and outlaws, let's talk Bo and Luke Duke from the Dukes of Hazzard. I think we all have heard the song about Hazzard County's "Good Ol' Boys" but you've never heard it sung like it is by country's own rebellious duo, Montgomery Gentry. Eddie and Troy are country's good ol' boys so it was only natural to put this song with these attitudes.

So I'm really lovin' the cd so far, can it get better? Why yes it can! Justin Moore tears it up rockin' country style with his take on "I Ain't Livin' Long Like This". Man I love some Justin Moore, he really knows how to kick it up a notch. There's some other good stuff in the mix like "Bob Wills is Still the King" performed by Jack Ingram, "Only Daddy That'll Walk the Line" put to Colt Ford's unique musical style, and "Rainy Day Woman" by Pat Green. The next song, "Love of the Common People", is a song that I think was paired perfectly with Josh Thompson. Josh always sings about the very subject of the song in his own music so it was only fitting that he be chosen to perform this one. Now a Waylon Jennings album isn't complete without Jessi Colter featured on at least one track and this cd is no different with Jessi lending her voice and talent to "Mama". The cd wraps up with a fantastic rendition of "Dreaming My Dreams with You" from Jewel and a true countrified bonus track by Wyatt McCubbin, "A Long Time Ago". This song truly captures the essence of what was and what still is Waylon Jennings.The title sadly speaks so much as it seems like country music this good was a long time ago. It reminds you of what country was and what good country was meant to be.

I've never wanted to put a chaw of Redman in my lip and swig a bottle of whiskey but damn if this cd won't make you want to! If volumes I and II are this good, Lord help us when the final volume III is released. I appreciate that this series was recorded, it reminds me why I fell in love with country music and what the element of true country music is. Thank you Waylon, country misses you every day.

The cd hits shelves on February 7 and is available now for pre-order on iTunes now. If you love real country music and Waylon, then go get your copy now.

Track Listing:

1) Lonesome, On'ry and Mean - Dierks Bentley

2) Waymore’s Blues - Hank Williams Jr.

3) Good Ol' Boys - Montgomery Gentry

4) I Ain't Livin’ Long Like This - Justin Moore

5) Bob Wills Is Still The King – Jack Ingram

6) Only Daddy That'll Walk The Line – Colt Ford

7) Rainy Day Woman - Pat Green

8) Love of the Common People - Josh Thompson

9) Mama - Jessi Colter

10) Dreaming My Dreams With You – Jewel

11) A Long Time Ago – Wyatt McCubbin (BONUS TRACK)

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Wyatt McCubbin is only 17 years old and a junior in high school. He was 15 years old when he recorded that song in the studio. The young man is an awesome singer with a traditional sound and an old soul.