Monday, September 30, 2013


CD Title: "It Ain't All Bad"
Artist: Steve Wariner
Release Date: September 10, 2013
Label: Selectone Records

If there was ever a title that was fitting for a cd, this is the one. There is NOTHING bad about this new release from Steve Wariner, as a matter of fact, it's a welcome change to know he's back in the game. With today's market so saturated with pop and hick hop infused country, it's nice to hear music that gets back to the basics and just calms the soul and that's exactly what Steve Wariner does. This cd is a reminder of what country once was and what long time country fans love: simplistic, well written, good feeling music. Tradition like this may not appeal to everyone, but it will appeal to those who just appreciate truly good music and are grateful for a serving of tradition with their order of country. It has a little bit of everything in it from a similarity of the uncomplicated stylings of Vince Gill and The Eagles, to more upbeat tempos, a little jazzy undertone, and songs that will simply tug at your heartstrings.

The opening title track, "It Ain't All Bad" is somewhat reminiscent of mid-90's country, the time when country was really starting to take hold of music fans, establishing it's presence and letting listeners know it wasn't going anywhere and was only going to get better as time moves forward and that's what this cd does, it only gets better as it goes on. From "Arrows and Airplanes" which immediately takes you back to a time when you could find country fans doing the Texas Two Step around a sawdust floor on a Saturday night to the soul touching ballad, "Don't Tell Her I'm Not" and the sentimentality of " I Want to Be Like You", listeners can expect the depth and emotion that first made them fall in love with Steve's music and the comfortable feelings of a warming of the soul and good memories which continue effortlessly through each song, track by track, memory by memory. These songs showcase the vocals that show just why Steve is timeless, why his talent is so deeply appreciated. He also shows off his skills on the guitar, proving he's not only a classic vocalist but a top shelf musician as well. From the deep melodic rhythms to a broad range of various guitar styles, he covers them all in this project and makes even the best of guitarists tune into the melody behind the lyrical stories of the songs. There are many other great songs on this cd and you'll just have to listen to the stories behind these songs and the silence between the notes to understand what it means to really understand great music, because this cd is truly great music. Steve Wariner has proven again that class, simplicity and genuine heart always make for the perfect song. He's even one upped that point and has proven that there is such thing as the perfect cd.

This is a cd that is a welcome addition to any country collection, really to any music collection.

You can purchase the cd at most music retailers and online at iTunes and Amazon.

You can find out more about Steve at, follow him on Twitter at @SteveWariner and "like" his on Facebook at

"It Ain't All Bad" Track Listing:

1.) It Ain't All Bad

2.) Voodoo

3.) Arrows at Airplanes

4.) Don't Tell Her I'm Not

5.) Bluebonnet Memories

6.) What More Do You Want

7.) Spokes in a Wheel

8.) I Want to Be Like You

9.) It's Called a Brand New Day

10.) Whenever I See You

11.) '48 Ford

12.) A Thousand Winds

No comments: